Full Name
Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano
Job Title
Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos
Speaker Bio
Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos with offices in Madrid (Spain) and Berlin (Germany), was founded in 1985 by Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano, who graduated as architects at GSAP Columbia University, New York. Along with being widely published in international magazines and boks, the firm’s work has been exhibited at the Biennale di Venezia in 2000, 2002, 2006, and 2012, at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York, in 2006, at the Kunsthaus in Graz in 2008 and at the MAST Foundation in Bologna in 2014. They are the recipients of the 2007 National Prize for Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Heritage (Spain) and the 2010 Nike Prize issued by the Bund Deutscher Architekten (BDA), as well as the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2010), the Piranesi Prix de Rome (2011), the European Museum of the Year Award (2012), the Hannes Meyer Prize (2012), AIA Honorary Fellowship (2015), the Alvar Aalto Medal (2015) and Gold Medal of Merit in the Fine Arts (Spain 2017). Their major works include the Madinat al-Zahra Museum, the Moritzburg Museum in Halle, the San Telmo Museum in San Sebastián, the Martin Chirino Foundation in Las Palmas, the Joanneum Museum in Graz, the Contemporary Art Centre in Córdoba, the Arvo Pärt Centre in Estonia, the Montblanc Haus in Hamburg and the Archive of the Avant-gard in Dresden. Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos is currently working on projects in several countries, among them, the extension of the Museo Sorolla in Madrid, the Carmen Thyssen Musem in Girona, the Königshof Hotel in Munich, the Cité du Theatre in Paris and the Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) in the USA. Several monographs have been published on their work: "Nieto Sobejano. Memory and Invention" (Hatje Cantz Verlag, Ostfildern, Germany, 2013), "Fuensanta Nieto, Enrique Sobejano. Architetture" (Mondadori Electa Spa, Milano, Italy, 2014), "Nieto Sobejano Arquitectura 2004-2017" (TC Cuadernos 131/132, Valencia, Spain, 2017), “Arvo Pärt Centre & Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos - A Common Denominator” (ArchiTangle, Berlin, 2020), and “Nieto Sobejano 2012-2024” (A&V, Madrid, 2024).
Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano